13″ + 10″ 2-tier Music Chocolate Chiffon Cake

Here’s probably the biggest cake I’ve done up to date! Thanks to Erin, who believed I could do it, and placed an order for her 18th birthday, serving 45 people. We started out with not much of an idea of what the cake would be like, and gradually decided that she wanted the cake to be soft and fluffy, definitely chocolate (not hard there!), and when I gave examples of themes, one of them being “music”, she, as a pianist, immediately jumped at the theme and was quite keen on having the “piano” somewhere. I then suggested that we might as well go with a black/white theme, and she happily accepted.

Although we almost made it into a 3-tier cake, but I was afraid the cake wouldn’t hold (which I realised later actually would have held, as I decorated this with whipped cream, not fondant.), so I tried to go for a big round cake for the bottom layer and a pretty big one on the top instead.

My biggest round cake tin is 10″, and for a while I contemplated on getting a bigger cake tin in, but then again it’s not everyday I have a chance of making cakes this size, so it’s not much of an investment. I suddenly remembered I have a sheet cake tin that’s rectangular and is 13″ wide, so I decided to bake 3 of these, shape them into semicircles and slice them horizontally so I get 3 layers of a 13″ cake, and viola!!

I LOVED making this cake, so much fun, I really am much more interested in baking than eating! 😛

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

