Coconut Macaroons

People ask what the diff is between coconut macaroons and French macarons (pardon the spelling, it seems everyone’s got a different philosophy behind macaroon and/or macaron, and this is MY way of differenciating the 2), but really a better question should be “What do they have in common?”

Well, they both only contain egg whites and no yolks, there!

Also I personally like the coconut version better coz it’s not sickly sweet like the ever-so-popular French macarons, and please don’t come at me with a stick coz I really don’t see what’s so amazing about the French macarons.

The coconut one is so much more flavourful, doesn’t taste like wet sugar with a crusty layer of sugar and a sugar filling.

And I like the way I’ve made them this time! I don’t know why, maybe the eggs were smaller, so the dough turned out a bit harder than I last made them, so I could actually roll them in my hands to form cute ping-pong balls, and they came out of the oven even prettier than my usual batches!

 

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

