Farewell, Frank Kitt Underground Market!

Yes, is it with sadness to say that I will no longer be at the Frank Kitt Underground Market on Saturdays.

When I first started at the market at the beginning of the year, I had gone through lots of trouble. Finding a registered kitchen to bake at, getting the health and hygiene licence, lots of money spent on getting all the equipment for transport, display etc.

It was with great promise when I started this market! But unfortunately things didn’t work out, mainly due to the fact that this market was underground, and in Wellington (where the weather is unstable) and possibly I started at the wrong time too – winter markets are never really that popular.

I’ve had some good days, of course, but with all the kitchen hire cost and the stall hire etc., at the end of this path (almost 1 year in), I have made almost nothing, not even repeat customers due to the fact it’s a weekly market where tourists come and go.

Of course it’s not all about money, but at the end of the day, I had to decide that standing there for 8 hours every Saturday to give away free cake is not the best option for someone like me.

So unfortunately I ended up having to put a stop to it, and will concentrate on custom-made orders instead.

Now, on to bigger and better things! 🙂

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

