Filigree and lace pre-wedding cake

So, only 50 days until our wedding day!

I was very excited about this project I had set for myself, as we were planning for a pre-wedding party for our colleagues and friends in Wellington.

The theme was inspired by my gown which I had purchased a while back. I already thought I would wear this for our pre-wedding party, and the more I thought about it, the more I decided I really love the 50’s fashion.

I loved the pretty round skirt, the fedora hat and I am a huge fan of guys in suits in general.

When thinking of 50’s, Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn come to mind, and my e-invitation ended up looking like this:

 

To go with this shade of pink/purple, I decided on a 2-tier buttercream covered cake, white base and some pretty patterns piped on it in the same colour.

It took me a good few days just to decide what flavours to make the cake, as my fiance’s colleagues have had the chocolate brownie way too many times (in my opinion), but it IS a beautiful recipe and I always go back to this when a chocolate cake is called for.

Vanilla was another safe option, but was a bit boring and unoriginal.

Finally I decided the chocolate cake is loved for a reason, so my bottom tier would be an 11″ chocolate cake.

The top was a last-minute decision and I made the vanilla cake but added some coffee powder and Bailey’s and turned it into a 7″ coffee cake.

The filling naturally ended up being coffee buttercream, both between the chocolate cake and the coffee cake.

It took me 3 coatings on the cake and I decided I didn’t like the colour of the coffee as the background of my filigree piping.

So I whipped up another white batch of buttercream and coated the cake with that.

I suppose I should have done a bit more homework on how to make the coat smoother, but I got a bit tired from these 4 coats and decided that my piping will just cover the uneven surface.

I had decided on a pretty lace pattern for the bottom tier, repeated but in different orders for some variety, and the top just covered with filigree patterns.

Here comes the cake!

 

And a few more photos of the cake:

 

 

 

Sorry for my horrid cutting-skill!

 

And just general photos of the food of the evening, which we made ourselves. The service staff at Sprig & Fern said “This was the finest looking buffet we’ve ever seen!

 

 

 

 

 

In the end, when cutting up the cake, most people asked for the chocolate cake anyway!

 

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

