Barbell cake!

Now this is one giant cake!

My husband’s colleague had her 40th, and as she’s a gym bunny, we thought a theme around exercise is something to go with.

After some thoughts, I decided on something like dumbbells or barbells.

She asked for a chocolate cake, and it needs to serve around 50 people, so off I went!

It wasn’t until I hit Google that I discovered how hard it is to find dumbbell cakes. I mean, dumbbell/barbell and cake in the same sentence? That’s difficult!!

BUT, nonetheless, I was inspired by a dumbbell cake where the bells are made of round cakes cut in half vertically, then placed on it’s side.

I thought about it, and wondered what happens when someone’s standing on cake, tries to lift up a ridiculously heavy barbell?

She would fall through the cake, of course! So here’s my inspiration!

The cake itself was around 6kg, and used up 18 eggs! And good on Alex for eating up the barbell all by herself! I love it when someone loves exercises but is not afraid to eat cake!  What’s the fun in exercising so hard and not allowing yourself to enjoy a little?

 

Here’s the cake in its entire glory!

barbell-alex-40th6-1

 

 

Now look at little Alex struggling to lift up the bells!

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

One response to “Barbell cake!

Leave a Reply

