Fairy Cake (Barbie doll cake)

This is definitely something I’ve always wanted to try my hands on!

I’m glad that I got a chance to try making a barbie cake, it was so much fun!!!

When I looked up youtube clips for an example, the demonstrator said “You can always add more.” and I totally agree! When I’ve done the skirt I felt like I could add some pearls here, some flowers there, felt like a little girl, need to pretty up the princess with lots of accessories and decorations!

The order was placed by my colleague Vinita, who was trying to find a cake for her daughter’s 4th birthday and I mentioned that I make cakes. She had her mind set on fairy (I think it’s a Sagittarius thing, my wedding was based on fairies, I got another query for a fairy cake for December and Vinita’s daughter also wants a fairy cake!)

Her daughter loves purple and pink, and she managed to find a barbie that’s all purple, which also came with wings! I unfortunately had to strip her naked and detach her wings, and started my first attempt at a barbie cake.

I didn’t have a dome to bake the cake in, but I did have a large cupcake tin so I made one of that, flipped the base upside down, placed the top on where the bottom was, added another 7″ round cake to the base for the skirt, then shaved the cake to the shape of the dress (Let me know if you actually understand what I’ve just described!) I must admit there are thousands of photos of barbie cakes on Google, but so many of them have skirts so big I wondered if the barbie could still walk with 10 layers of petticoat underneath, so I was determined to go for a princess-skirt-size and not Queen-Elizabeth-on-the-throne size.

In the end I used 19 Wilton tips to make this fairy, and I am very proud of this! She stands 30cm tall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

