Purple Dance cake with cake pops

So this is a very funky order!

My colleague’s daughter was turning 10, and she loves everything purple, hates everything blue (I was told several times NO BLUE or she would refuse to even touch it)

She was having a dance themed party and had invited a few girls over. She loved the idea of zebra patterns and liked the disco dancing silhouette idea (which I gathered from all the photos they’ve showed me), so accepting a challenge of making zebra patterns with piped buttercream and no fondant, this was going to be a tough one.

Indeed it wasn’t easy, getting the zebra pattern, and it wasn’t easy getting the dancing figure on top to STAY THERE either! As I had to sit in the car while my husband drove us to her place, the dancing figure fell at the last minute just as I was about to reach her door.

Fortunately they were so happy with it that the figure not standing there wasn’t a problem, and it didn’t help that when I tried to put him back in, hre legs broke off, but they seemed ok with it and we went with the top half of her body planted in the cake.

On the side, they also wanted cake pops to match, and they really liked the idea of the skewer and the name badge on top, so I managed to make all the badges with specially printed purple paper and got the guest list so I could put all their names on there. She had asked for more than they needed,  so the extra ones I managed to put the mother (my colleague)’s name, the younger sister’s name and I didn’t know the husband’s name, so he unfortunately got a blank one, which he pretended to be slightly upset by this when he saw it.

So here they are! The double-tiered purple dance cake with 12 cake pops to match! They came back raving about them, so I think that was successful!

P.S. the cake was the chocolate mud cake with cream cheese filling.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

