Hair dryer and brush carrot cake

This was a TradeMe order, another interesting challenge for me, as most of my previous cakes were 2D.

After browsing through Google to see what other people have done with hair dryer cakes, I came up with my own way of building this cake, making a 9″ x 13″ sheet cake, a small round cake and a loaf, which I ended up cutting in half vertically, to construct the handle and the tube of the hair dryer.

The result I was quite happy with, the filling of course had to be cream cheese buttercream, and the brush was just pipped on, with the bristle pipped as individual strand – this took me longer than expected as I wasn’t happy with the original attempt and I had to redo it.

This was made for her dear sister Janet’s 60th surprise birthday, with her favourite colour red. I hope she was thoroughly surprised!

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

