Taiwanese Sun Cake

Follow on from the Taiwanese Mooncake, this sun cake is another popular dessert in Taiwan. This cake isn’t related to a particular festival, but more so linked to Tai-Chung, a city in the central West of Taiwan (3rd biggest city).

The pastry remains the same, but brushed with egg wash to give it a glossy look, and unlike the mooncake where it’s white and round, this one is golden and flat – like the sun!

The filling is maltose (malt sugar), which has a caramel-like texture, this is one of my favourite Taiwanese treats, after making a batch of these, I ended up making another 2 batches all for myself (which my husband would admit he managed to secretly nick almost half of the batches I made – and he’s never had it before!)

About cabnolen

I'm a piano teacher who also loves dancing and BAKING! I generally bake to experiment and to improve. If you're interested in my baking, welcome to place an order, drop me a line! Challenge me! View all posts by cabnolen

Leave a Reply

